Home   >  Festival   >   Awards and tributes

Awards and tributes

The Premio Corral de Comedias is the award given, every year, by the Almagro International Festival of Classical Theatre, since 2005, to national and / or international figures, featuring a relevant artistic career within the world of the performing arts and in various fields or genres. In the previous editions have been awarded outstanding institutions such as the Royal Shakespeare Company, the Comédie Française, and leading theatre figures like Nuria Espert, Vanessa Redgrave, Francisco Nieva, Michel Piccoli, José María Flotats, Norma Aleandro, Declan Donellan, among others.

Moreover, each year the Festival pays a tribute to recognize the achievements and the dedication of public figures, teachers, directors, producers, artists... whose work and contribution to the universe of the Baroque artistic heritage has been fundamental and relevant to the development, study and dissemination of this cultural tradition. Protagonists of this tribute have been names such as José Nieto, Vicente Fuentes, Rafael Pérez Sierra, César Oliva, Andrés Peláez, José Tamayo, José Hierro, José Manuel Garrido, Javier Artiñano, Ángel Fernández Montesinos, among others…


19th Premio Corral de Comedias
Adriana Ozoresactress.
18th Premio Corral de Comedias
Carlos Hipólito, actor.  
17th Premio Corral de Comedias
Pepe Sacristán, actor.
16th Premio Corral de Comedias
Concha Velasco, actress.
15th Premio Corral de Comedias
José Luís Gómez, actor, stage director, teacher and member of the Real Academia Española.

14th Premio Corral de Comedias
Julia Gutiérrez Caba, actress.

13th Premio Corral de Comedias
Schaübuhne Berlin, theatre institution established in 1962.

12th Premio Corral de Comedias
Compañía Nacional de Teatro Clásico, theatre institution established in 1986 by Adolfo Marsillach.

11th Premio Corral de Comedias
Nuria Espert, actress and stage director.

10th Premio Corral de Comedias
Francisco Nieva, stage director, stage designer and dramatist.

9th Premio Corral de Comedias
José Carlos Plaza, stage director.

8th Premio Corral de Comedias
Declan Donellan, stage director and Nick Ormerod, stage designer. Founders of the company Cheek by Jowl.

7th Premio Corral de Comedias
Norma Aleandro, actress, Opera stage director, author and teacher.

6th Premio Corral de Comedias
Vanessa Redgrave, actress.

5th Premio Corral de Comedias
Michel Piccoli, actor.

Since 2005, the Premio Festival de Almagro and the Premio de las Artes Escénicas de Castilla-La Mancha have been merged into the Premio Corral de Comedias

Premio Festival de Almagro 2004
Royal Shakespeare Company, theatre company.

Premio de las Artes Escénicas Castilla La-Mancha
Miguel Narros, stage director Andrea D'Odorico, stage designer.

Premio Festival de Almagro 2003
Francisco Ruiz Ramón, author and teacher.

Premio de las Artes Escénicas de Castilla La-Mancha
José María Flotats, actor and stage director.

Premio Festival de Almagro 2002
Miguel Narros, stage director.

Premio de las Artes Escénicas de Castilla La-Mancha
Antonio Gades, dancer and choreographer.

Premio Festival de Almagro 2001
Comédie Française, theatre company.

Premio de las Artes Escénicas de Castilla La-Mancha
Fundación Teatre Lliure, theatre company.


Manuel Canseco, 
stage director.

Juan Gómez-Cornejo, 
light disigner.


Pepa Pedroche, Joaquín Notario, Arturo Querejeta, actors.


José Nieto, musician and composer.

Vicente Fuentes, master and verse adviser.

Ángel Fernández Montesinos, stage director.

Javier Artiñano, stage and costume designer.

Andrés Peláez, director of the National Theatre Museum since its creation until 2015.

Jose Manuel Garrido, consultant and cultural producer.

César Oliva, doctor in Philology, professor and stage director. Festival director from 1983 to1985.

Ángel Fernandéz Montesinos, stage director.

Rafael Pérez Sierra, Founder of the Almagro Festival of Classical Theatre and Festival director from 1986 to 1989. Director of the Compañía Nacional de Teatro Clásico from 1995 to 1999.
José Tamayo, stage director.

Isidora Aguirre, dramatist.

Elio Berhayer, fashion designer.

Alberto González Vergel, stage director.